illycaffè announces Ernesto Illy International Coffee Award finalists


illycaffè has announced the finalists for the eighth edition of the Ernesto Illy International Coffee Award.

The prize is named in memory of Ernesto Illy, son of the company’s founder, that celebrates over three decades of virtuous collaboration with coffee producers. Among them, the ‘Best of the Best’ and the ‘Coffee Lovers’ Choice’ will be chosen and awarded on 16 November in New York during a ceremony at the New York Public Library.

“Our mission is to delight lovers of goodness and beauty all over the world with the best coffee that nature can provide, enhanced with the best technologies and art,” says illycaffè Chairman Andrea Illy. “The Ernesto Illy International Coffee Award allows us to stimulate the production of increasingly good and sustainable coffee.”

During the year, the illycaffè quality laboratories analysed the samples from the 2022/2023 harvest and selected the best lots and producers, based on both the company’s quality and sustainability parameters.

The 27 finalists are spread across nine countries:


Luis Manuel Ramos Fachada M. da Silva

Raimundo Dimas Santana Filho

São Mateus Agropecuária

Costa Rica

CoopeelDos R.L.

CoopeSabalito R.L.

Finca San Carlos

El Salvador

Finca Agua Caliente

Finca Monterrey

Finca San Rafael


Legesse Sherefa P.L.C. – Dawit Zerihun Kasahun Washing Station

Legesse Sherefa P.L.C. – Germa Adere Debele Washing Station

Tracon Trading P.L.C. – Guji Hambela Washing Station


Finca Buena Vista

Finca Danilandia

Pequeños Productores Santa Cruz Naranjo


Finca Los Chagüites

Finca Mi Cafetal

Finca Santa Martha


Kogilehalla Estate

Nullore Estate

Woddaegooda Estate


Finca San Antonio

Finca Zaragoza/Exportadora Atlantic

Proyecto LIFT Wiwilí


Kayumbu Coffee Washing Station

Mubuga Coffee Washing Station

Nyakabingo Coffee Washing Station

In anticipation of the announcement, the samples will be available for consumers to try at illycaffé’s flagship stores around the world. The coffee samples from the finalists will be evaluated by an independent multidisciplinary jury of international experts, who will then award the title of ‘Best of the Best’ to the winner.

For more information, click here.

Send this to a friend