Konrad Meyer appointed Chairman of Pret A Manger board

Pret A Manger

United Kingdom-based sandwich and coffee chain Pret A Manger has announced a series of board changes as it focuses on the next phase of its international growth.

As part of the announcements, Konrad Meyer has been appointed Chairman of the Board and will succeed Oliver Goudet who held the position for the past six years.

“We are very proud of the transformation of Pret over the past few years, and we remain focused on the essence of Pret: happy teams and happy customers, and serving people with the Joy of Pret,” says Meyer.

“As a final step in leaving the pandemic behind, we are implementing plans to reduce debt. I would like to thank Olivier for his strategic vision and leadership throughout the turbulent pandemic, and for tripling the number of Pret’s international markets. Olivier is handing over Pret as it returns to its pre-pandemic strength, now with much enhanced international and digital footprints.”

In 2018, Meyer led JAB Holdings’ acquisition of Pret A Manger and has been a board member since. He joined JAB Holdings the same year following a decade in private equity.

As part of the reshuffle, Pret A Manger Co-founder Sinclair Beecham and previous Chairman Larry Billett will return to the business, with Billett taking the board position of Chair of Audit Committee.

“I am also delighted to be welcoming Sinclair and Larry back to the business. With Larry’s return to the board, and Sinclair’s continued support, we are bringing together the brilliance of Pret’s past with the promise of Pret’s future, as we support Pano Christou [Cheif Executive] and the Pret management team in delivering its winning recipe of delicious, freshly made food and organic coffee with fast, friendly service,” says Meyer.

The first Pret A Manger shop opened in London in 1986, where the headquarters are still located today. The company operates more than 650 venues in 18 markets, which include United Kingdom, Ireland, United States, Hong Kong, France, Dubai, Kuwait, India, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Belgium, Singapore, Germany, Canada, Italy, Spain, Qatar, and Greece.

Send this to a friend