McCafé and Starbucks take lead in Allegra Strategies’ European Coffee Awards nominations

McCafé and Starbucks are leading the pack in nominations to win the title of 2011 Br undefined

est Branded Coffee Shop Chain.

Allegra Strategies released on 8 November the full list of this year’s nominees for the 2011 European Coffee Awards.

The two American-born coffee chains took the nomination for France & Switzerland and Germany & Austria markets, while also being nominated as the Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain in Europe.

The UK's Costa Coffee is also a potential candidate to take the European title, while also being nominated as the Most Ethical Company.

Alf Kramer, the first President of the Special Coffee Association of Europe, has been recognied for the Lifetime Award. See below for full list of candidates.

These nominations were made by more than 300 senior industry peers, who took part in the Allegra European Coffee Leader Survey in August/September 2011. The category winners will be announced at the European Coffee Awards & Gala Dinner at the European Coffee Symposium 2011, to be held at the Ritz-Carlton Berlin on 23 November. Full findings from the survey will be reported in Allegra’s Project Café11 Europe, to be published the day following the awards dinner.

Full list of nominees in alphabetical order are:

Company Awards

Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain – France & Switzerland
Starbucks Coffee Company

Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain – Germany & Austria
Starbucks Coffee Company

Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain – Italy
Espressamente illy

Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain – UK & IE
Caffè Nero
Costa Coffee
Starbucks Coffee Company

Best Branded Coffee Shop Chain – Europe
Costa Coffee
Starbucks Coffee Company

Best Independent Coffee Shop – Europe

Best Roaster – Europe
Lincoln & York
Solberg&Hansen AS
Square Mile Coffee

Best Coffee Equipment Supplier – Europe
Franke Coffee Systems
La Cimbali
La Marzocco

Most Ethical Company – Europe
Costa Coffee
Matthew Algie
Starbucks Coffee Company

Most Innovative Brand – Europe
Beyond the Bean
Keep Cup

Individual awards

The following persons will be recognised at the awards ceremony for their contribution to the coffee industry in their country or across Europe.

‘Outstanding Contribution to the European Coffee Industry’
Heinz Trachsel, former Swiss National Coordinator, SCAE
Paul Stack, Operations Director, Marco Beverage Systems
Johan Ekfeldt, Owner, Johan & Nystrom Coffee Roaster
Elaine Higginson, Managing Director, United Coffee
Steve Penk, Commercial Director, La Spaziale UK

‘Lifetime Award’
Alf Kramer, 1st President of the SCAE

For more information visit

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend