New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association elects new board

The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association has elected a new board, with Carl Sara replacing Tony Kerridge as President. The elections were held at the organisation's Annual General Meeting over the weekend of 8 – 9 June, 2013. Sara is the owner of the Christchurch-based roastery, Crafted Coffee Company, and co-owner of green coffee importer and wholesaler, Bean Brothers.  He has won the New Zealand Barista Championships four times and placed as high as third at the World Barista Championships and fourth in the World Latte Art Championships. Sara also serves as the Chairman of the World Coffee Events Advisory Committe and is on the WCE Rules and Regulations Committee. The rest of the Board is as follows: Vice-President – Hayden Thompson from Pomeroy's Coffee & Tea. Secretary/Treasurer – Karla Gichard from Ozone Coffee Roasters. Board members – Ewan Cameron from Trade Aid, Pete Davies from Underground Coffee, Paddy Kennedy from Acme & Co. Stuart Hargie and Nick Clark continue as Guild Chairs and David Thomas from Extraction Specialists is the Allied member representative. Tony Kerridge from Caffe L'affare will serve for one year as immediate former President.    

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend