SCA appoints new Second Vice President, Treasurer

The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) announced that Konstantinos Konstantinopoulos and Burak Alici, two members of the 2020-2021 Board of Directors, have been selected to take on roles as SCA Board Officers in the coming year.

Each year, the Board of Directors elects a Second Vice President, who serves an additional term of three years to ensure presidential succession. Konstantinos Konstantinopoulos of Coffee Island has been elected by the board to succeed Juan Luis Barrios in this role as of 1 January, 2021.

As an active member of the Board since 2015, Konstantinopoulos’ previous experience chairing the Events and Audit committees of the SCA Board of Directors, as well as his work to date with the SCA Greece Chapter, where Konstantinos served as National Coordinator from 2014 to 2018, will be an asset to the organisation.

“It is really a great honour to be voted by my fellow board members to enter the leadership succession as Second Vice President,” says Konstantinopoulos.

“The SCA’s diverse communities around the world can lead the specialty coffee industry to navigate this health, social, and economic crisis. Having served for many years as a volunteer in chapter leadership and the board, I hope I can support the board, the staff, and the communities to deliver in the strategic plan we’ve set for the next five years on this journey to make coffee better.”

As per the association’s bylaws, Burak Alici of private investment company QVIDTVM Inc has been selected to fill the position of Treasurer from January 2021 to December 2022. Alici has been an active member of the Board’s finance committee since his election; his experiences in corporate finance and accounting will continue to be an asset to the SCA Board Officers as the SCA delivers its five-year strategic plan amid the continuing pandemic.

Nils Erichsen will complete his elected term as Board Treasurer on December 31, 2020. Erichsen has made a contribution to the SCA through his support as an original SCA Board Director and extending back to his involvement first as SCAE President in 2009 to 2011 and then with the SCAE Board since 2004.

“Personally, I am very excited for Konstantinos and Burak to join the President’s Council of the SCA board,” states SCA Board President, Christina Meinl.

“These are two highly experienced coffee individuals – their expertise and integrity will benefit our Association and its members greatly. I am convinced that their leadership styles and visions will ensure a bright future for this Association. I wish them all the very best.

“I would also like to thank Nils for his many years of serving the Association as a volunteer. Nils’ financial acumen and strong leadership has guided and shaped the Association’s finances and strategic plan. His profound business knowledge and very structured attention to detail ensures that this Association was always in the very best of hands. Thank you, Nils, for very many years at the SCA. We very much appreciate all you have done for the SCA.”

The SCA Board of Directors Officers for 2021 will be:

  • Colleen Anunu of Gimme! Coffee, President
  • Juan Luis Barrios of Finca La Merced, Vice President
  • Konstantinos Konstantinopoulos of Coffee Island, Second Vice President
  • Burak Alici of QVIDTVM Inc., Treasurer

The election cycle for the 2021-2022 Board of Directors is currently underway.

Nominations for the 2021-2022 SCA Board of Directors closed 10 July, 2020, with the announcement of the proposed slate expected 31 August. The election will open on 1 November and run until 31 November.

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend