SCA appoints Yannis Apostolopoulos as Executive Director

The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) has appointed Yannis Apostolopoulos as its new Executive Director, following the announcement that Ric Rhinehart is stepping down from the position. Apostolopoulos has served as the SCA’s Deputy Executive Director since the Specialty Coffee Associations of America and Europe (SCAE) merged in 2017. Prior to this, he was a member of the SCAE, and established the Barista and Roaster Guilds of Europe. Rhinehart is leaving the position to focus on the SCA’s Coffee Price Crisis Response Initiative, which aims to understand and address the price crisis affecting coffee farmers and threatening the supply chain. In related news, the SCA has announced six new members of its board of directors, following an election in November. Asli Yaman of Kimma Coffee Roasters, Pamela Chng of Bettr Barista, Vava Angwenyi of Vava Coffee, Vera Espindola Rafael of the Secretariat of Agriculture, Livestock, Rural Development, Fisheries and Food in Mexico, Mbula Musau of Utake Coffee Limited, and Choi Seongil of Choi Coffee Company will join the board for two-year terms beginning 1 January 2019. SCA board member responsibilities include the strategic and fiduciary oversight of the SCA, to serve on at least one SCA Advisory Council as a chair or co-chair, and attend and actively participate in board of director meetings. Participating in the SCA as a director is a volunteer position. It is required that an SCA director be an eligible voting member of the association. The SCA has also announced that several existing board members will take on new roles from 1 January. Heather Perry of Klatch Coffee Roasting will become President, Christina Meinl of Julius Meinl will become Vice-President, Tracy Ging of S&D Coffee & Tea will become Second Vice-President, and Nils Erichsen of Wave Investments will become Treasurer. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend