The SCA announces 2023 Sustainability Awards finalists

Fairtrade report

The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) has announced the finalists for the 2023 Sustainability Awards, recognising excellence in sustainability across the industry.

The 2023 Sustainability Awards consist of three categories, Individual, Business Model, and Project, recognising outstanding work in the field of sustainability, promoting sustainability within the coffee world while inspiring others to initiate similar endeavours.

After receiving 16 Project, 27 Business and 14 individual submissions this year, a committee comprised of SCA staff has selected the finalists in each award category. The 2023 Sustainability Award Finalists (by category) are:

Business Model:

  • Primavera Green Coffee
  • Endiro Coffee
  • Dean’s Beans Organic Coffee
  • Black Baza Coffee Co.
  • Steeped Coffee
  • Bellwether Coffee


  • Ricardo Oteros Sánchez-Posuelo
  • David Griswold
  • Jose Rivera
  • Grayson Caldwell
  • Mahdi Usati
  • Andre Hamboer


  • Project D.I.R.E.C.T. by Farmer Brothers
  • The Cooperation On Fair, Free, Equitable Employment (COFFEE) Project by
  • Verité
  • NKG Bloom by Neumann Kaffee Gruppe
  • RENACER Coffee Training School by Catholic Relief Services (CRS)
  • The Technological Park of Innovation in Coffee and Coffee Farming by
  • Low-Carbon coffee value-chain project in Kenya by Moyee Coffee, Agriterra,
  • Fairchain Foundation, KDCU, KALRO (Consortium)

Winners will be announced in March 2023, and recognised at Re:co Symposium, taking place from 19 to 20 April.

The projects, business models, and people receiving these awards are not only dedicated to confronting the enormous challenges facing the specialty coffee industry—from climate change to gender inequality—but also collaborating across geographies, cultures, and value chain roles, and sharing the lessons they have learned for the benefit of the entire coffee sector.

For more information, visit

Send this to a friend